Reblogging old posts #6

So, I went out to collect the eggs the other day.

 

Most of the girls were pretty good, though 2 were trying their best to fit into one nesting box, gave me a few warning pecks when I tried to grab an egg. Oh well, they were probably uncomfortable and cranky. 🙂

 

But one of the roosters! When I bent over to open the water jug, he jumped me. And not in a fun way either.

 

He left five gouges in my knee where his claws ripped through my pants. I was bleeding! Not impressed!

 

I got into a kicking contest with him, which was a bit unfair as I was trying not to hurt him. He, however, had no such constrictions about me. Eventually I had to kick him hard enough to send him into a corner of the coop, where he stayed hissing like a cat, and his feathered ruff extended like those little dinosaurs in Jurassic Park.

 

I didn’t realize how badly I as bleeding until I got back in the house. Jim says not to worry so much about hurting the rooster, we got three more. And he can be replaced!

Leave a Reply

